Phases of the Menstrual Cycle

The menstrual cycle can be separated into the phases of follicular phase (14 days during which proliferative phase happens), ovulation, luteal phase (14 days during with secretory phase happens), and period. These are referred to as phases of the menstrual cycle.

Follicular Phase and Ovulation

phases of the menstrual cycle

There are 4 phases of the menstrual cycle. Please read the below article to know the phases of the menstrual cycle in order.

  1. Follicular Phase

phases of the menstrual cycle

During the follicular phase arrival of FSH (follicle-stimulating hormone) from the pituitary outcomes in the improvement of an essential ovarian follicle. This essential ovarian follicle produces estrogen which makes the uterine covering multiply (proliferative phase).

  1. Ovulation


During the center of the period (14 days), an increment in (LH spike) results because of the estrogen delivered during the proliferative phase. This LH spike causes ovulation (release of the ovum from the follicle) to happen.

  1. Luteal Phase

Luteal Phase

Ovulation is trailed by the Luteal phase, during with the remainders (theca interna and granulosa cells) of the follicle (abandoned after ovulation of the ovum) form into the corpus luteum.

Corpus luteum produces progesterone, which then, at that point keeps up with the covering of the endometrium (that had multiplied in light of the estrogen in the proliferative phase). This is essentially preparing for the ovum to embed.

  1. Period or Menstruation

Period or Menstruation

If the ovum doesn’t embed, the corpus luteum degenerates, and the progesterone levels decline to bring about the sloughing off of the endometrium lining (Menstruation).

Also if the ovum does embed (after treatment happens), the creating trophoblast will keep up with the corpus luteum by delivering HCG (human chorionic gonadotropin) until around two months when the placenta can keep up with the creation of estrogen and progesterone.

Restarting the Cycle

phases of the menstrual cycle

An ensuing reduction in estrogen and progesterone (after degeneration of the corpus luteum and period) brings about an increment in FSH which then. At that point stimulates the improvement of more essential ovarian follicles to begin the menstrual cycle once more.

Almost 5-15 early phase follicles are shaped of which just one (predominant) will develop into ovulation. It will invigorate itself with estrogen. (Autocrine incitement by the joined work of theca interna cells (produce androstenedione because of LH incitement). And granulosa cells (convert the androstenedione into estradiol in light of FSH incitement) of the follicle.

So, above is a quick guide on phases of the menstrual cycle. To know more, please stick to the menstrual cycle blog 😉

[sp_easyaccordion id=”472″]

Leave a Comment